Skip to content

Conway Trading Co.

Conway Trading Co., 15 Toynbee Street, Shoreditch, Borough of Tower Hamlets, London E1, 2010 (top) and 2004 I’ve got a feeling this tinned-up row of old traders is still lingering on, in prime central London. Not for long, surely. It used to sell men’s socks and underwear – see Spitalfields Life, here; and there’s more info in the great blogpost Alan Dein’s East End Shopfronts Revisited. It was run by the cousin of Frank Conroy, whose ex-warehouse is featured here.

Conway Trading Co.

Conway Trading Co.

3 replies »

  1. With excitement I found number 7 Toynbee St., where I worked from 1967/70. The last contact I had with Stuart Stewart, my fantastic boss, was in the late seventies. I would love to make contact with the family again. I have never forgotten their kindness to me. So, if anyone out there knows there whereabouts!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

SHOPFRONT ELEGY – THE BOOK

£14.95 from Amazon, click for details

Follow on Twitter

Get a regular image @ShopfrontElegy

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10.5K other subscribers

View by place or year