Skip to content

Hollinshead & Walker, Harry Haworth (Glassware) Ltd.

Hollinshead & Walker, Harry Haworth (Glassware) Ltd., 16-17 Cleveland Square, Liverpool L1, 2003 • I couldn’t find out anything about this decaying emporium bordering Liverpool’s now-fashionable Ropewalks warehouse area, but a comment below informs me it was a manufacturer of glass, china and earthenware, active in Liverpool 1829-1959. The building is still there and has been renovated, but the raised lettering now says ‘L.A.G. Prichard‘. It looks totally original, but was presumably added at the same time as the date ‘2006‘ that’s been inserted in the top wreath. Now houses White Haus beauty salon.

Hollinshead & Walker, Harry Haworth (Glassware) Ltd.

Hollinshead & Walker, Harry Haworth (Glassware) Ltd.

 

 

Hollinshead & Walker, Harry Haworth (Glassware) Ltd.

Hollinshead & Walker, Harry Haworth (Glassware) Ltd.

6 replies »

  1. I came across this on a genealogy thread (I have some Staffordshire connection so keep an eye on postings).

    From August 1999:

    ‘I am looking for information on the HOLLINSHEAD family. The following is what I know:

    William HOLLINSHEAD
    possibly married to a Hermin HARDING on August 28, 1804, Norton in the Moors, Staffordshire, England.

    William’s son:
    Robert HOLLINSHEAD, born December 27, 1812
    married Ann Vyse, September 5, 1835 in Wolstanton, Staffordshire
    died, November 11, 1868, Dundas, Ontario, Canada.

    The reason for posting to Lancashire, is that Robert HOLLINSHEAD had a pottery factory in Liverpool up until about 1866. Where could I get information on this?

    The company was called:

    Hollinshead & Walker, Lmtd.
    Glass, China & Earthenware
    1829-1959
    1617 Cleveland Square
    Liverpool

    Apparently, the interest was sold out eventually to Picardy??

    I was curious if anyone knew about the company.

    Andrea
    Oklahoma
    USA
    AMVolturo@aol.com

    • Wow thanks, that’s an amazing bit of research, so it was a pottery firm. Presumably one of the many businesses supplying the shipping trade in this area. Will update the blogpost.

  2. Hiya I worked in hollinstead&walker in 1985-86. The business was booming then and it sold mainly glass and China. I worked in the office and the business was family run if I remember rightly I think it was Walker. The shop/business was run by relatives,manager was a great grandson and office manager was great granddaughter. The shop manager I think was a relative too. I Did have a booklet on the business if I can find it I will post it here, I also have some glassware too. Hope this info reaches you. I carnt remember when the business closed.

    • Hi, thanks for this wonderful and informative comment. This is incredibly helpful, that store was such a mystery to me. The shop looked so run down I imagined it closed much earlier than the 80s! Please do post anything here you wish related to it.

  3. I can still imagine the shop now it’s was very old fashioned, a bit like if you look at photos from the 1900’s. The shop was very big down stairs selling very expensive China and stoniers glass ware. The shop was always very busy. I think the shops closed in the 90’s.

Leave a Reply

SHOPFRONT ELEGY – THE BOOK

£14.95 from Amazon, click for details

Follow on Twitter

Get a regular image @ShopfrontElegy

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10,615 other followers

View by place or year

Formerly: a book about disappearing London

Formerly cover.
With photos by Vici MacDonald and poems by Tamar Yoseloff, Formerly is a beautiful little chapbook which is just £8.00 online – you can buy it here

Recent comments

Instagram @shopfrontelegy

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

