Skip to content

Europleasure International Ltd

Europleasure International Ltd, 2-8 Duke Street, Liverpool L1, 2003 and 2013 • A name, like The Lux Company, that’s straight out of James Bond. This was derelict for ages, and looked much the same when I visited in 2003 (top) and 2013 (bottom). Once known as Langdon’s, it used to be a manufacturer of textile items from tents to toys to clothes, according to this, and was recently the subject of an artwork. It’s since been turned into student accommodation (Studopleasure, maybe), and looks unrecognisable. There’s some incredibly thorough research on it by Philip Mayer here.

Europleasure International Ltd

Europleasure International Ltd

4 replies »

  1. Did you know that at some point someone went into the building and removed certain panes of glass from the windows across 3 floors to spell out a quote!? I took a picture of it in 2010. I’m not sure how many other people noticed this, because it was a relatively ignored building by most Liverpool inhabitants. Other than my friends and I (who, at the time, wanted to purchase the building to live in and hold raves haha). So one day as I was looking at it I spotted the words “TOUCH AND GO” in the windows!! I can’t upload images here but I’ve uploaded it to a pic hosting website: http://oi65.tinypic.com/j17cs9.jpg I’m a photographer in Liverpool and I kick myself for not capturing this on my camera one day.

    • I think that may have been something to do with the Liverpool art biennial that year – I know the building has had various art projects around it. Pity you didn’t manage to buy it for a rave venue 😀

Leave a Reply

SHOPFRONT ELEGY – THE BOOK

£14.95 from Amazon, click for details

Follow on Twitter

Get a regular image @ShopfrontElegy

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10,603 other followers

View by place or year

Formerly: a book about disappearing London

Formerly cover.
With photos by Vici MacDonald and poems by Tamar Yoseloff, Formerly is a beautiful little chapbook which is just £8.00 online – you can buy it here

Instagram @shopfrontelegy

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

